Milestones

2years

 

Time is such a fleeting thing.

The average writer usually writes for around a year and a half before they realize that they have no more words to say. That the story they set out to tell has finally been told. They move on to different things almost always with the plan to someday start up writing again but few seldom ever do.

So to reach the two-year anniversary of my auspicious beginnings as a writer, for me, it’s a true remarkable thing.

After the failure of my first writing efforts and my inability to get published, I didn’t know if there was much point in continuing. Yet, here we are now, two years later and I am still striving forward. Not as much here for the time being but still writing none the less.

I have always believed that it is the journey that changes you and not the destination. The last two years of my life are proof of that. I have met some amazing people through my writing. Some changed me for the better, some broke my heart more than I thought was humanly possible and some even kept me sane in what had to be some of my darkest hours.

So, to all 1,257 of my followers I say “Thank you”. Even the ones who got suckered into following me by the piece that got Freshly Pressed only to find out I leave dildos in mail boxes and get caught taking a dump behind a garden shed and blaming a defence less dog.

Even though I don’t spend as much time here as I used to, my time is being put to good use and hopefully in the very near future you all will see the results.

 

10 thoughts on “Milestones

  1. Congratulations on reaching 2 years, here’s to many more without your wrist falling off.

  2. a hearty congrats to you and i’ve enjoyed the ride and look forward to more – beth

  3. I wrote a poem inspired by this. It’s called “I read today”. http://girlinthehijab.wordpress.com/2014/08/28/i-read-today-keep-writing/ and it starts off with “I read today,
    The average writer writes for a year and a half,
    Before they realise they have no more words to say.” Can you check the poem? I’m going to edit in a reference to your lovely post now. Please let me know if you have any problems with me keeping it up.

  4. Pingback: I Read Today (Keep Writing) | Girl in the Hijab

  5. Happy Blogging B-Day! I was surprised when I reached two years… It didn’t seem that long… and it seemed longer all at the same time.

  6. I’d just like to say that for as long as I’ve followed you (and I’m still not sure how long that has been, but I bet WordPress could tell me if I tried hard enough), I’ve always appreciated how brutally honest and innocent your writing is. Keep writing! 😀

Leave a Reply

