Burnt Offerings

burnt offerings

 

Writing can be a frustrating task at times.

What happens when nothing is inspiring?

How do you tell a story about your life when your life has become a routine of work, eat, run, sleep?

When the Muse will not descend, you have to look for other ways to keeping putting the pencil to paper.

A few years ago, I lost everything in a house fire including all my sketch pads. When you lose something in that fashion it takes a while to get the urge back. It also set in motion the idea to use the charcoal that my own things had become to come up with new sketches.

Something simple.

Writing has been a chore the last few months as I prepped my book for release so I stuck to fiction writing that can be found on my other blog. Fiction requires inspiration and when that fails, I decided to break out the pencils and try my hand again at drawing.

Charcoal is a great medium for finding the truth in a single bold line.

IMG_2836

 

From a complex pencil sketch with dozens of lines,

IMG_2829

 

To as bold an image with a few simple lines.

But as simple as it seems to find a true image of a simple creature it requires a more deft hand to capture the most complex creature of all.

IMG_2835

 

IMG_2834

 

IMG_2833

 

Bold lines for the boldest of creatures.

So bold that I even framed my favorite piece to hang on an accent wall in my living room.

IMG_2827

Things always seem more easy to understand when you break them down to the basic components of black and white.

So when the urge to write escapes you then just put pen to paper. Or pencil as the case may be.

7 thoughts on “Burnt Offerings

  1. Beautifully written and you have a talent for finding the raw honesty in a situation.

  2. wonderful. you are so multi-talented –

  3. I will pay you for a drawing of a cat, I love the one above. You’re very talented. I learnt life drawing when I was studying graphic design and I loved it, especially discovering that I could draw… But it’s frustrating because I can’t draw from memory, I have to be able to see the subject.

  4. Pingback: The Things I See Up Here | Funny Blog Friday – Halloween Edition

Leave a Reply

